Getting the finger(ling): Adventures in big-game fishing

Beaver Dam Creek 8 13 2016 001

About the above photo: No, my hand isn’t so large that it makes normal-sized fish appear puny. Also, I have not taken up “tanago fishing,” which, popular in Japan, apparently involves the inexplicable sport of purposely catching very small fish.

Instead, it was simply a lousy day of fishing. The above largemouth bass would likely agree, even if I did free it shortly after snapping the photo.

It’s interesting that even at 1-1/2 inches, the fingerling possessed vibrant coloring and has the exact appearance, albeit much smaller, of a mature bass.

Less interesting was casting for more than an hour and having nothing to show for my efforts but the small fry.

Of course, the scenery in rural South Carolina is always spectacular this time of year, which helps assuage the aggravation of going home empty-handed.

(Below: Beaver Dam Creek, Newberry County, SC, where the behemoth was caught – and freed.)

Beaver Dam Creek 8 13 2016 028

7 thoughts on “Getting the finger(ling): Adventures in big-game fishing

      • My son started fishing as a little boy. It was my job to take him after school to little watering holes. He rarely caught anything but thoroughly enjoyed going. He was so sweet that I loved taking him. We sat quietly so as not to disturb the fish. The only sound was swatting the inevitable mosquitoes. He and his Dad went on fishing trips that resulted in lots of fish. I am so happy that he and his Dad had those times together. Now my son & his wife are expecting their first child. Another fishing novice and the tradition continues.

  1. Beautiful little thing, isn’t it.

    My father took me guddling for trout in the hills of Scotland when i was a child…freezing your hands off to catch them as they emerged from the stones in the stream. We always went home with a few, though…

    • Guddling for trout with your father in the Scottish hills – what memories that must evoke. I’ve never tried guddling, though I’m fascinated by the idea. The patience and persistence it must take I can only imagine.

  2. As a child you seem to have patience….or I did. Much more than I have now…
    Neither do i have the dexterity these days.

    I enjoyed the time in the hills with my father…he seemed much more approachable than when at home – full of stories and laughter.

Leave a Reply

