Good Samaritan hopes for best in deer-car incident

get well

As I sputtered toward the local metropolis Sunday afternoon, I spotted an animal carcass on the side of the road. Nothing unusual there, but tied to the foreleg of the white-tailed deer was a silvery foil balloon festooned with the words “Get Well Soon,” not unlike that pictured above.

Once I comprehended the words on the balloon I started laughing raucously, and asked my daughters if they’d caught a glimpse of the decidedly optimistic note attached to the lifeless ruminant.

Daughter No. 4, blessed with her father’s cynical sense of humor, immediately found the above image on the Internet, and soon we were all laughing.

The Internet also offered up: a roadside memorial to a dead raccoon in Toronto, a dead armadillo and various other deceased deer adorned with get-well balloons and, in a completely serious story, a 2013 memorial that was held in Portland, Ore., for 50,000 bumblebees, honeybees and ladybug, said to have been killed by pesticides.

One supposes the last item would be funnier if not for the fact that more people showed up to honor the “slain insects” than often appear at the funerals of those who die with few family or friends.

Update: I spotted said white-tailed deer on the way into work this morning. It’s condition could best be described as “stable.”

10 thoughts on “Good Samaritan hopes for best in deer-car incident

  1. Overuse of pesticides, and the resulting effect on pollinators and other insects is not to be taken lightly, in my view; I suppose the ‘funeral’ was a form of protest, but you’re absolutely right; it’s ridiculous in the light of people who do not honour their dead. Now to add to the circus; when I saw your comment on the deer you saw being ‘stable’, I thought “Better still on my table.” Oh, the hate mail I’ll get for that. Great post. Off to buy some ‘get well soon balloons.”

    • No, I don’t take unnecessary extermination of anything lightly, but some folks seem to value lower life forms far more highly than they do other humans. I’m glad you understand where I was coming from.

      As to your second comment, I didn’t even touch on the photo I came across of the dead feline, with a sign next to it that read “Free Cat.” Every laugh that gave me probably adds another decade in purgatory to my sentence.

    • Yes, I would have thought y’all would have come up with something like this, too. I’ve always enjoyed the caustic satire of the British – it’s much more nuanced than a lot of American humor.

Leave a Reply

