Social media: It’s not just for the tech savvy anymore

facebook

The below may or may not have appeared in a British newspaper as a letter to the editor. I came across it on a local webpage, Wrisley.com, that included a screenshot of the newspaper clipping from one Peter White of Derbyshire titled “My own social media,” which does give it a bit more credence.

Whatever the case, it’s good for a laugh:

SIR: I haven’t got a computer, but I was told about Facebook and Twitter and am trying to make friends outside of Facebook and Twitter while applying the same principles.

Every day, I walk down the street and tell passers-by what I have eaten, how I feel, what I have done the night before and what I will do for the rest of the day. I give them pictures of my wife, my daughter and of me gardening and on holiday, spending time by the pool. I also listen to their conversations, tell them I ‘like’ them and give them my opinion on every subject that interests me… whether it interests them or not.

And it works. I have already four people following me: two police officers, a social worker and a psychiatrist.

Peter Brook, Holbrook, Derbyshire

(HT: Wrisley.com)

9 thoughts on “Social media: It’s not just for the tech savvy anymore

  1. Great fun!
    Social media is a bit beyond me…I have no idea how to ‘Tweet’ and use Facebook only to keep up with news from friends who use it…

    However, having been made aware of the invasions of privacy consequent upon downloading Windows 10 were I rash enough so to do I have no doubt that I too would soon be ‘followed’ by a social worker, a psychiatrist and two policemen…or perhaps three. As the old saw used to go…one to read, one to write and a third to keep an eye on these two dangerous intellectuals.

Leave a Reply

