Huff Po readers: how heavy art thou burden

2014-03-24-MarchMadnessClass

The above is the Huffington Post’s attempt at humor. I suppose one has to be squarely in the publication’s readership demographic to find the graphic even remotely humorous.

Forgive me if I have a hard time relating to travails of “tardy housekeepers,” “talkative cabbies” or, alas, “gluten.”

Curmudgeonly sort that I am, the bit comes across as smarmy and irritating, much like the vast majority of those who read the Huffington Post, or, at least, those who post comments on website material.

Smug and self-righteous are two terms that come to mind when reading the rantings of Huff Po regulars. That, and self-important.

As such, perhaps it’s not surprising that the Huff Po’s content is overwhelmingly shallow, narcissistic and materialistic. It’s editorial content possesses the nutritional equivalent of Wonder Bread smeared with marshmallow fluff, and is about as appealing.

William F. Buckley once famously quipped, “I am obliged to confess I should sooner live in a society governed by the first two thousand names in the Boston telephone directory than in a society governed by the two thousand faculty members of Harvard University.”

Likewise, I’d find conversation with 100 readers of The Hockey News infinitely more compelling than that of an equal number of purveyors of Huffington Post. It would certainly be easier to engage in an educated discourse.

15 thoughts on “Huff Po readers: how heavy art thou burden

  1. Doonesbury had a storyline a while back where Rick Redfern, having lost his job as a journalist for a dead-tree newspaper, was reduced to writing blog posts for HuffPo without compensation. He got excited when they called him with a paying assignment, only to discover it was to “curate” a listicle of “Top Ten Sideboobs of 2012” or something like that.

    That pretty much summed up what HuffPo has become in a single, four-panel comic strip. They have a convenient link index at the bottom of the home page, but that’s about it.

  2. A friend had a couple of bits published in the HP so I took a look….to whom does it cater, I wonder?
    As a compulsive reader I’ll try almost anything, but this – and the Harry Potter oeuvre – defeated me.

    • Yes, not sure exactly what HP is after – Those distracted by shiny stones? Fans of reality television? Cultural halfwits? An odd business model and one I can’t seem to wrap my mind around. The few times I’ve read it I’ve wound up realizing I got absolutely nothing out it, which is pretty difficult to do with just about any news source.

  3. I agree with everything you said about HuffPost, but I found this bracket extremely funny. Not about the “travails” or the “hardships” but about the people who consider them so. I have a casual friend who cannot get through a conversation with mentioning gluten and we have gotten close to smacking her in the back of the head. That’s why the bracket is funny. If a site other than HP had posted it, you wouldn’t have found it a bit satirical or amusing?

    • You’re probably right – if it hadn’t been in the HP it would have been at least slightly funny. If some other publication had titled it “Afflictions of Huffington Post Readers” I probably would have gotten a really good laugh about it.

      As for your acquaintence who can’t get through an conversation without mentioning gluten, I would think it’s time to doctor up some Internet news stories so they show that recent studies now demonstrate that gluten has been found to be everywhere, even in, say, water. That ought to freak her out nicely.

Leave a Reply

